Expand +



Multilevel categorization: A new feature in SAP Solution Manager 7.1 Application Incident Management

by Scott Priest, Editorial Director

October 27, 2011

As I've discussed a number of times in this space since TechEd, there are lots of new features in SAP Solution Manager 7.1. The new release in many ways represents a completely rethought concept of the Solution Manager application.

One area with many new features is Application Incident Management. Application Incident Management in 7.1 represents a major upgrade in incident management and messaging capabilities over prior releases. Enowa Consulting's Nathan Williams tackles 10 of the most prominent, beneficial features of AIM in his latest article for Solution Manager Expert.

Subscribers can see all ten, including screenshots to show the difference in appearance in 7.1, but I've included an excerpt below about one of them: multilevel categorization.

h2>9. Multilevel Categorization

Four levels of category values are now available when you are creating and processing incidents. A multilevel categorization schema allows your organization a much more flexible and open manner to report on incidents. You can use the standard SAP-provided schema or configure an organization-specific schema based on your own requirements. Figure 15 identifies one example of how you can combine categories to classify an incident. This example uses the standard schema delivered from SAP.

Multilevel categorization offers significant improvements over how category values were captured in the prior version of the Service Desk. Prior to the release of SAP Solution Manager 7.1, you were limited to one category value in the SAP GUI Service Desk. Furthermore, these category values were global across all transaction types that used the category field (i.e., they could not be assigned to a transaction type). For example, Service Desk and ChaRM scenarios had to share category values. With multilevel categorization, however, you can configure custom schemas with category values specific to the process you are enabling (e.g., Incident Management, Problem Management, or Change Management). You have the flexibility to configure and deploy multiple schemas, as they can be assigned to transaction types.

Your support organization should spend some time collaborating on the design of these categories. It is important that they not change frequently, or more importantly, don’t change at all. In addition to reporting metrics being distorted, prior incidents cannot be assigned to new or updated categorization schemas

For the full article, Solution Manager Expert subscribers can go here. To see all of Nathan's articles in Solution Manager Expert, go here.

An email has been sent to:

More from SAPinsider


Please log in to post a comment.

No comments have been submitted on this article. Be the first to comment!